No Image Available

Ferghana in Central Asia: Islam and the Modern Nation-State 中亚费尔干纳:伊斯兰与现代民族国家

 Author: Shi Lan  Category: Central Asia, Chinese Scholarship, Geopolitics, Identity, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Religion, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, Uzbekistan, Xinjiang  Publisher: Publishing House of Minority Nationalities  Publication Date: 2008  Language: Chinese  Buy Now

Fergana is a small intermountain basin in southern Central Asia, bordering the southern part of Xinjiang in China across the Pamirs. The basin is divided into three countries: Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan and Tajikistan.”Central Asia” itself is not a well-defined geographical concept. For some people, such as geographers, its scope is so wide that it can include vast expanses of deserts and grasslands in the hinterland of Asia; for others, it is just the “two rivers” in this desert and grassland—— Amu Darya and Syr Darya. The “Central Asia” of this book, according to the general parlance of contemporary international political scholars, is defined as the five “stans” independent from the Soviet Union – Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan and Turkmenistan.